First Time Visitor FAQs

Please read through these general instructions-you'll find important information here that will maximize your experience using our Site.  We also have separate FAQs more specific to our Site content.
 
 
 

On this page you will find the following:

 
 

1. THE PURPOSE OF THIS WEBSITE

Return to Menu

Our Site was created to connect and re-connect with our fellow RMs (even those who will not be attending reunions). Some other goals are: chronical the history of the mission, provide a place to share mission stories and photos, highlight what's changed, and post significant current news from the mission.  Our Site is private - you must log in to see most Site pages.

 

2. PRIVACY NOTICE

Return to Menu

All contact information (address, phone number, e-mail address) that you enter into this website will be kept confidential. The host of this web site, ClassCreator.com, is a locally-owned business. They understand the importance of your privacy. Your personal information will never be sold to other sites. It will not be shared or distributed.

Your contact information is private; your street address, e-mail address, and phone number cannot be seen by other RMs. Each RM has the ability to limit the visibility of his or her profile to only fellow RMs by clicking on the appropriate answer in the Profile Visibility section during profile setup. If you do not opt for privacy on this line your profile can be viewed by non members such as your friends or family, but also note your profile will be fully indexable by major search engines.

Finding your RM Profile page by searching Google or other major search engines:

  • If you are signed on to the site and restricted your profile to only fellow RMs, and then use a search engine to see if the privacy options above are working, it will appear they are NOT. This is only because you are signed into the site. Sign out and check again. You will see that none of your profile information is viewable by non members.

You may initiate contact with other RMs who have already joined using the "Send xx a private message" contact option at the top of each RM's profile page (just look under the RM's main photo in the upper left). This way you will be able to initiate contact with registered RMs without sharing your private email address, unless you choose to do so within the body of your message.

All class Email news sent from us to you via this web site: For those of you with spam blocking or email filtering capabilities, please add noreply@classcreator.net to your email account as a safe sender in order to ensure you receive email communications from us.

Please note that if you do not want your name on this site it may be removed by contacting Todd Ogaard using the 'Contact Us' link. This will end all communications to you from the Japan Sendai Mission 1974-77 Teruya Jidai Official RM Site, unless you ask that special arrangements be made.

 
 

3. SETTING UP YOUR PROFILE

Return to Menu

In order to access the pages that are password protected on this site, you must set up a profile by providing a minimum of your email address, and a password.

To set up your profile: locate the "RM List" link and locate your name and click on it. Follow the prompts to create your profile.

Private information like your email address, home address, and phone numbers will not be visible to other RMs. We collect mailing addresses in the event that we need to contact you by snail mail or phone. Your information will never be given to other RMs without your permission.

We encourage you to add a current picture to your profile as a master photo. This photo will be displayed in various areas around the site. It's also helpful to upload an additional "Now" photo, and a "Then" photo. RMs will enjoy seeing how you've changed!

If your name is not already on the site, but you served with those in the Teruya Jidai, contact us with your information and your name will be added.

Updates: If you change your email address, snail mail address, or phone number, please update your Contact Info so we have up-to-date information. That way you'll always be in the know about what your RMs are up to!

Passwords:

Choosing a password: Choose something simple that you are certain you will remember. Clicking the "Remember Me" will allow you to bypass entering the password each time you visit, but eventually the "remember me" will fail (for instance when you get a new computer).

If you forget your password simply click on "forgot password". If you have several email accounts, and you don't remember the one you used to set-up your account, contact Todd Ogaard using the 'Contact Us' link. This could take a while so please be patient.

 
 

4. Facebook's "Class Connection"

Return to Menu

Since Site users may include both Facebook-users and Facebook-avoiders, our Site accomodates this dichotomy since it allows access through either the Internet or through a Facebook App called, "Class Connection."  That being said, the Facebook side is a bit more school class-site oriented, so for example, instead of 'RM List,' the term 'Classmates' is used.  Your choice.  If you decide you want the ability to view the Site via Facebook, simply click on the 'Class Connection' link under the Member Functions menu at left.  Once you've set up this connection, 'Class Connection' should appear as an App on your Facebook main page.  

 

5. COMMUNICATING WITH RMs and PERSONAL CONTACT INFORMATION

Return to Menu

To contact a fellow RM who has already joined the Site, once logged in, use the link, "send _____ a private message" at the top left of each RM's Profile page (located under Master Photo) to initate contact-a 'webmail' is sent to their email address on file. This feature allows you to initiate contact with another RM while protecting your personal information. If you wish to share your actual personal email address or other personal information (phone, address, etc) within a message written on our site, the site will not block you from doing so.  No personal contact information is displayed on profiles.

 
 

6. ADDING PICTURES AND VIDEOS TO YOUR PROFILE

Return to Menu

Adding pictures is not a requirement to participate on the site, but it certainly is a nice way to connect a name with a face. We've had reports of RMs who were routinely running into each other without knowing it, because...well....we've all changed a little over the years! :)

Filling in the photo slots at the top of your Profile ('Master,' 'Then,' or 'Now'):

  • Click "Edit Profile" under MEMBER FUNCTIONS.
  • Roll your cursor over the Master Photo, Then, or Now photo silhouette (note you cannot upload a yearbook photo if one has already been provided)
  • Click "Select Photo" displayed in the upper right corner of photo, then click the "Upload a New Photo" button.
  • Select the desired photo from its location on your computer. You will then be given an opportunity to crop the photo for a perfect fit.

Adding Photos to your 'Photos' Gallery on your Profile:

  • Click "Edit Profile" under MEMBER FUNCTIONS.
  • Click on the box labeled 'Photos' in the upper right corner of your Profile.
  • A new "Photo Gallery" window will open.  You will see any images previously uploaded here, including ones added to 'Master,' 'Then,' and 'Now' as described above. Click the "Upload a New Photo" button to add more.
  • Once uploaded, you need to click to select images you wish to display in your 'Photos' Gallery. All images with a green check mark will display. Click again to not display, and the green check mark will disappear.
  • Captions, Editing or Deleting  Roll over the upper right-hand corner of any image until a pencil icon appears-you should see three options under the pencil:
    • Captions  We humbly request (require, actually) that you add captions to your pictures (who? when? where?).  Select "Edit Details." Enter your caption and press save.  You can also come back later to edit or add captions.
    • Adjust Photo  A photo editor opens where you can enhance, resize or crop your photo
    • Delete  Allows you to remove photos from your Gallery 
  • You can adjust the display order of your photos by simply dragging and dropping them into the positions of your choosing.

Adding video (links) to your Profile (Only links to YouTube or Vimeo videos are allowed):

  • Click "Edit Profile" under MEMBER FUNCTIONS.
  • Click the 'Click to Add' video icon in the upper right corner of your Profile.
  • A new dialog box will open - click on the 'add a new video' button
  • A new box appears that says, "Include a video that is already shared on a social media site (YouTube & Vimeo). Paste the video link in the box below."
  • Paste the link in the 'video link' box.
  • Click, 'Add Video'
 
 

7. SITE PAGES

Return to Menu

If you're ever curious about any link on the site, just click on it! There isn't anything on our site that will wreck your computer. Relax! Enjoy!